Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce
Lufkin/Angelina Chamber of Commerce Home : The Chamber : Chamber Programs : Leadership Lufkin

Skip to: navigation, or content.

Leadership Lufkin

Leadership Lufkin Application
2016-2017 Leadership Lufkin Application
To apply for membership to Leadership Lufkin, please complete the application form and turn it in to Susie Cardwell at the Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce at 1615 S. Chestnut prior to the June 1st deadline.
Leadership Lufkin Brochure
Leadership Lufkin Brochure

Requirements: Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and are required to either reside or work in Angelina County. Tuition for the program is $1200, which covers costs of some meals and transportation, training materials and speakers.

The Program: Leadership Lufkin is a prestigious nine-month introductory program designed to identify and educate the existing and potential leaders of Lufkin and Angelina County. It consists of day-long sessions targeted at orienting the class to particular aspects and issues of the community, such as the health care and safety, social services, local/county/state government, education, economic development, and quality of life in Angelina County. The program also includes an empowering leadership training class within each session, facilitated by a professional, that is the backbone of the program and grows in depth and intensity from session one and culminates at the celebratory graduation.

The program requires participation in an intense two-day opening retreat with a ropes course of high and low elements, a two-day or three-day high-energy trip to Austin to study state government and host the Lufkin/Angelina County Day reception, 5 hours volunteering at the annual Angelina County Science & Tech Fair, and 3 hours volunteering at the Texas State Forest Festival. The class is also required to attend a City Council Meeting, an Angelina County school board meeting, a County Commissioner's meeting, and a Lufkin Police Department Ride-Along. A class project is also carried out from start to finish during the 9-month program and is a permanent addition to the community. Leadership Lufkin allows class members to become acquainted with volunteer opportunities, needs of local non-profits, Chamber goals and benefits, and community issues to find each class member’s passion and niche the community. The program will prepare participants to graduate into Leadership Lufkin and begin using the skills and knowledge learned to lead our community.

Financial Assistance: If you require financial assistance, a letter explaining your request and the Commitment Statement must be included with your application. Upon acceptance into the program tuition is due in full. Limited scholarships may be available. Click here for instructions, a copy of the Scholarship Request and the Commitment Statement.

2015-2016 Tentative Schedule of Events and Sessions. (These dates are subject to change.)

Leadership Lufkin Class of 2014-2015 - (Class #33)

Cole Alderman Bartlett Baggett and Shands Insurance
Will Alvis Merrill Lynch
Linh Bass Century 21 Bryan Realty
Starla Bickerstaff KTRE
Laura Bowman Goff & Herrington, PC
Eva Brandenburg Lockheed Martin
Thad Chambers City of Lufkin
John Fulbright Xerographics East Texas
Katie Glanton Georgia-Pacific
John Grigsby First Bank & Trust East Texas
Alaina Helton City of Lufkin
Ashley Hitchcock Consolidated Communications
Kim Johnson Angelina County & Cities Health District
Steve Killam St. Paul’s United Methodist Church
Doug Lankford CHI St. Luke’s Health Memorial
Sabrina Lillard CHI St. Luke’s Health Memorial
Scott Neill Regions Bank
Jackie Polk Lee TranServices, Inc.
Wendy Robuck Buckner International
William Price Heritage Land Bank
Melisha Stafford The Advanced Financial Group
Bryan Tyler Brookshire Brothers
Trey Wright GE – Lufkin

By attending or participating in any Leadership Lufkin session or event, you are giving the Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce permission to use any likeness or photography taken during such sessions or events for publicity purposes.
Site Design, Development, and Hosting provided by