Skip to content

Candidate Forum Scheduled for February 29, 2024

The Lufkin/Angelina County Chamber of Commerce, in conjunction with our presenting sponsor, GLS, will be hosting a Candidate Forum for all the contested primary races in Angelina County on Thursday, February 29, 2024 at 5:30 PM at the Pines Theater in Downtown Lufkin.  This will be an opportunity to listen to local candidates as they share their interests, qualifications and answer questions.

“The Lufkin/ Angelina County Chamber of Commerce has a responsibility to our community to make sure we keep people informed on the issues and topics that can help change the local environment.  We advocate for our entire county by developing a climate in which businesses can create jobs and operate a profit which includes keeping the public informed on who is running for public office”, said Tara Watson-Watkins, Chamber President and CEO.

Each candidate will be allowed 2 minutes to introduce themselves to the audience.  The co-moderators will then ask questions that have been prepared prior to the forum or submitted to the moderators by the audience before the forum.  Each candidate will be allowed one minute to answer the questions.  The moderators will rotate which candidate gets to answer first.

Moderators will be Donny Webb, Chair of the Governmental Affairs program and Tara Watson-Watkins.


All candidates running in contested races were notified and invited multiple times.  Those that have RSVP’d and will be in attendance are:

  • In the State Representative’s race, Rep. Trent Ashby and Paulette Carson
  • In the Angelina County Tax Assessor-Collector race, Billie Page
  • In the Angelina County Commissioners Race Precinct 1, Rocky Thigpen
  • In the Angelina County Commissioners Race Precinct 3, Gerald Williamson
  • In the Angelina County Constables race, Precinct 1, Clint Henderson
  • In the City of Lufkin Council Ward 2 race, Robert Shankle and Carlton Teal
  • In the Lufkin ISD Board of Trustees race, Calvasha Summers, Melinda Moore, Erika Neill, Billy Ray and Matthew Knight

Doors to the public will open at 5 PM.  The Candidate Forum will begin promptly at 5:30 PM.

Scroll To Top