Skip to content


The ATHENA Leadership Award® is a nationally recognized award.

This award is presented to a woman who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.


“What is honored in a country will be cultivated there.”

The ATHENA Leadership Award® represents eight distinct attributes that are reflective of women’s contributions to leadership: Authentic Self, Relationships, Giving Back, Collaboration, Courageous Acts, Learning, Fierce Advocacy, Celebration and Joy.

Recipients fit this criteria:

• Demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession
• Provide valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community
• Actively assist women in realizing their full leadership potential

ATHENA Leadership Award
previous recipients

2011 - Ellen Temple
2012 - Bonnie Denmon
2013 - Martha Hernandez
2014 - Donna Busler
2015 - Jane Ainsworth

2016 - Patricia McKenzie, PhD
2017 - Demetress Harrell
2018 - Sally Muhlbach, AuD, PLLC
2019 - Cindy Tierney
2020 - Brenda Elliott

2021 - Heather Kartye
2022 - Phyllis Grandgeorge
2023 - Sharon Shaw
2024 - Sally Alvis

Scroll To Top